Be a Supporter!

FlaggedOnArrivalFlaggedOnArrival

Main News Audio Favorites Reviews Stats 39 Fans
Follow FlaggedOnArrival

All 63 audio Reviews


i believe i believe

Rated 5 / 5 stars 1 month ago

Not sure why you don't have a lot of self confidence man. Have you heard your music? I mean truly sat back and listened to it? There's no steam roll invloved in this group, it's anyone's game! (Although JacobCadmus might have about an inch on us... but not much)

You do great work man, I can really relax to this song and drink my cup of morning coffee, sit next to the fireplace and smoke a cigarette, and for once be worry-free. Thanks for that btw :)


johnfn responds:

Haha the thing is that when I listen to my own music I usually hate it :p NO SELF CONFIDENCE EVER

Thanks for the nice review :-)


My Cortana My Cortana

Rated 5 / 5 stars 1 month ago

Well played Sir... Well played indeed...



Round 1 Round 1

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars 1 month ago

Inspiring! Excited to hear more from you during the NGADM. Good luck in the judging phase and future rounds!



Escape from the City Escape from the City

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 14, 2014

I feel ur pain on the zero bombers man, but that's not the reason I voted you a 5/5. I consider myself somewhat of a classical and orchestral connoissuer . I listened to your song twice before typing this review, so as to properly portray any emotional or logical stimulus.

Intro - Two words? Simplistically deafening. Piano was a wonderful choice. Good pad work. Great build up into 1:08.

1:08 - The drum roll was superb, yet lacking a certain element. For some reason, the description I want to portray eludes me at this moment. Loving your choice of brass here. It successfully captivates me. Smooth transition to 1:22.

1:22 - Superb pad build up and transition into 1:26.

1:26 - At this moment in your arrangement, I half expected to hear a different melody, possibly something that matched your intro a tad better. like being able to split the track into sections, and take 0:00 - 1:08, put it along side 1:26's melody and be mindblown. However, that being said, still a good choice of melody, which nicely compliments the entire song and all of it's changes.

1:56 - Very sudden, abrupt, and abrassive change of pace for my tastes. I would relate it to being immediately snapped out of a trance. Not entirely bad, but not entirely good either.

1:56 - 2:25 - Very good usage of strings, piano, and woodwinds.

2:25 - I couldn't have chosen a better primary transition however, you use the same sound later on, during a main phase of the arrangement. Very risky, but powerful and bold.

2:46 - Those drum beats. Those single hits. Remember earlier in the song when I was snapped out of my trance? I take it back. This just completed a cycle, full 360ยบ.

3:09 - This part of the arrangement was very provocative for me. I love the fact that you incorporated a reverse build into the coda.

3:18 - Successful coda. Your piece was brought together in my opinion, by this essential part.

Now to the critique.

I feel as if I'm left wanting. There were certain elements that were just not there. Although you seem to have a mastery over the genre, I felt as if it were prescribed. Not in the sense that I didn't enjoy the music, because I enjoyed it quite a bit however, I assumed from your first transition to hear an epic crescendo later on in the piece. There elements for it were there, but they weren't brought together. They were placed in different areas.

Overall, I'm giving you a 5/5 review vote, and a 5/5 rank vote. Thank you for your work, and I look forward to seeing it throughout the rest of the NGADM. I am glad to have you as a competitor!

Take heart, this is not an official review. lol.
~FoA


People find this review helpful!
papkee responds:

I wouldn't even come close to saying I have mastery over the genre, I've been doing this for three years. :P

This is up there as one of the best reviews I've received in quite some time. Recently I've been putting forth much more effort in my music, and it really is paying off. I'm glad you like it, and I do agree with many of your little issues with the song. It's always nice to hear someone say something more than just "good song i liek" as a review.

Once again thanks for the review and good luck as well in the competition!


Future Future

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 14, 2014

Loving it :3

Looking forward to battling against you in the NGADM Finals :D

*Bold statement.... Sips tea*


People find this review helpful!
Pandasticality responds:

xD glad you like it, i doubt il make it trough this round, this is the first competition im taking part of *sips tea* funny sir.

- Pandasticality


Dragon DnB Dragon DnB

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 13, 2014

Hey there jawalker213!

First off I'd like to applaud your effort :)

Secondly, I would like to take the time to go over some fine points with you about your song here...
(Constructive criticism GO)

Throughout the song, you have one drumline, which is very indicative for a DnB song. I expected to hear a more "in-depth" use of snares, bass drums, possibly even a little timpani in there somewhere, whereas not only did the drums hardly ever change... (giving it an overwhelming feeling of repetitiveness...) there felt a little too sharp, like a really hard kick and then nothing. No drawback, no phase, no bassline. which brings me to another point. There's no bass in this piece.

My advice for your next song, If I may dare to give it, would be to work on an overall drum rogression that can be interchanged throughout the song, and to have a bassline to match not only the melody, (which btw albiet a great idea for a melody, also becomes repetitive around the 1:02 mark) but also the drumline, something that can also be interchanged throughout the song.

Overall for execution and deliverance of the song, I'm giving you a 3 1/2 review rating and a 4/5 vote, because I (as a musician myself here on Newgrounds) know exactly how many people zero bomb, and just how discouraging that can be. Remember though, I'll be looking for new works from you, and If you want a 5/5, you gotta show me what you're made of brother!

~FoA


jawalker213 responds:

Thank you for taking the time to carefully review! I've enjoyed listening to your take on music as well! And also, thanks for being a considerate person in the online community.


Endir WIP Endir WIP

Rated 4 / 5 stars August 13, 2014

Hey there Xsalvaz! First off I'd like to say great use of textures.

That being said I have one thing to note against this composure.

Your intro is repetitive. I understand it's a great effort however, for a DnB song, it lacks that intro spark brother! I expected to hear some off the chain snares to go along with those 4 bars of great melody, or maybe some more differentiation in the notes every 2nd bar man! I kinda feel like you left me hanging :(...

Other than that it was a great piece, really short, but great none the less.

Keep up the good work!
~FoA


People find this review helpful!

Fading Fading

Rated 3 / 5 stars March 11, 2014

i get the idea behind the music, but there's no real.... drop... the wubs should wub your wub wubbity wubbington? they just kinda fizz and pop. nothing to harsh on the ears but probably more chillstep than dubstep.



Space Dubtrot Imogen Heap Space Dubtrot Imogen Heap

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars December 1, 2013

Hello.
Review:

Nice melody. I felt the urge to get into the music early on. You have these things going for you with this song:

Melody. Beat. Flow.

The melody of the vocals along with the wubs and piano was well placed. You took it to a level of composure that only even a handful of artists here on NG's can achieve.

The beat was superb. A little build up here, a little drop down there, you really had me close my eyes and immerse myself into the beat.

The flow of the song is what really made me listen through to the end. A little chord dissonance towards the end but nothing to complain about because whether you intended it or it was an accident, the dissonance really made the song come alive.

However, you have these things against your creation:

No drop. No grind. No "umphf".

The entire song I was waiting for a drop. It made the song a "chillstep" beat instead of dubstep.

The song was grindless, and what I mean by that is; If I were playing an MMO, grinding experience, I need a song I can repeat over and over. This was not that song. After a while it all just starts to sound the same. Intro, Hook, Beat, it's all very near the same.

There was little umphf in the wubs and bassline. For a dubstep song you absolutely have to emphasize at least at one point in the song.

I love the IDEA you have here. Work on it. Make it progress. Make it something your grandmother's ears would bleed to.

3.5/5 my friend, to show that I lean over the halfway mark one full measure in your favor in hopes of hearing something spectacular from you!

~FoA~



Three Eyed Beauty Three Eyed Beauty

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 30, 2013

Loving the slow beginning leading to the simple drop. That tone fades perfectly with each bass hit. 1:24 gets really good marks from me for it's transition.

the drop at 1:51 into that melody and wobble... um... if it were louder and had more reverb it would probably leave me speechless.

4.5 for visionary and exemplary production quality.
5 vote from me.
-FoA-


TheBehemoth responds:

Thanks man! Appreciate the in-depth review!